Black Eyed Peas rapper is legally blind

Black Eyed Peas star apl.de.ap has revealed that he is legally blind.

The rapper and producer – real name Allan Pineda Lindo – spoke of his struggles with rare genetic eye disorder Nystagmus, a condition that has effected him since birth and causes constant blurry vision, nearsightedness and involuntary eyeball vibration.

“I’m good at shapes,” he told The Sun. “If I’m not close, even if it’s big, I can’t read it.

“Until I discovered hip-hop, I felt I wasn’t going to accomplish anything. When I dance, I picture myself and the floor in my head. I doubted myself for a long time… I’m comfortable not using my vision. I weave around my problems.”

Leave a Reply

